His words.

Grandpa pulled the leather bound book from the shelf. The time was small, but it appeared smaller in his large, gnarled farmer’s hand.

“Have you read Eugene Field?” he asked.

He did not wait for me to say, “I had to memorize one of his in elementary school.”

He handed me the book and recited:

The gingham dog and the calico cat
Side by side on the table sat;
‘T was half-past twelve, and (what do you think!)
Nor one nor t’ other had slept a wink!
The old Dutch clock and the Chinese plate
Appeared to know as sure as fate
There was going to be a terrible spat.
(I was n’t there; I simply state
What was told to me by the Chinese plate!)

The gingham dog went “Bow-wow-wow!”
And the calico cat replied “Mee-ow!”
The air was littered, an hour or so,
With bits of gingham and calico,
While the old Dutch clock in the chimney-place
Up with its hands before its face,
For it always dreaded a family row!
(Now mind: I’m only telling you
What the old Dutch clock declares is true!)

I will cherish this forever.

Leave a Reply

